Skip to Main Content

Continuing Education and Professional Development: Upcoming Continuing Education & Professional Development Events from 4CLS

Welcome!

Below is information and registration links for upcoming professional development and continuing education events offered by the Four County Library System. If you have any questions, please contact Circe at cmckenney@4cls.org. 

Upcoming 4CLS Webinars

Collection Development Webinar Series- Intellectual Freedom with Steve Bachman (4CLS)

Monday, February 26, 2:00 pm

Given the current climate, any discussion of collection development needs to reflect the rise of censorship and challenges to intellectual freedom.  While building a quality library collection it is important to be aware of the core principles of our profession.  This session will examine those principles and how they come into play during the development and management of a library’s collection.

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3660064638448451678 

 

Collection Development Webinar Series- Diversity Audits with Kymberlee Powe (Connecticut State Library)

Monday, March 11, 2:00 pm

Kymberlee Powe, Children and YA Consultant for the Connecticut State Library Division of Library Development, dives into the makeup of the publishing industry. You will learn how to identify the difference between a diverse collection and an inclusive one, and walk through the logistics of performing a diversity audit of your collection. The examples and resources provided in this session will focus on youth collections; however, the methodology of performing a diversity audit, and the reasons to do so, are universal to all collections.

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2057358215686011222

 

Programming for All Ages: Using Assessment Tools to Build from the Ground Up

Friday, March 15, 10:00 am

Let’s talk about programming. No matter where you are in your library journey, it’s important to assess how you’re using your resources (financial, emotional, physical) to serve your community—and often, this starts with programming and an honest assessment of your capacity. Using my own library as an example, we’ll use an asset analysis framework to guide you through a community survey and then show how to implement new programs as part of a larger strategic plan for your library.

Register here: http://tinyurl.com/4clsPFAA

 

Censorship: Then & Now webinar with Terry Lucas and Mara Zonderman

Thursday, March 21 at 2:00 pm

Examples of censorship are popping up every day across the country. Is this just the latest example of the same attempts we’ve seen since we first put quill to parchment, or is this wave of censorship attempts something different. Join us as we talk about the history of censorship, the current climate, and everything in between.

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4019611538130695520

 

Collection Development Webinar Series- Weeding and Collection Maintenance with Megan Biddle (4CLS), Sarah Reid (4CLS), and Brian Lee (4CLS)

Monday, March 25, 2:00 pm

Are your library shelves overflowing?  Do you need help in deciding how damaged is to damaged? How do you tell if a book’s information is still relevant?  How do you decide which books to let go of?  This session will give you an overview of criteria to use when making weeding decisions, as well as some reports available through BlueCloud Analytics that can show which books are spending more time on the shelf than in patrons’ hands.

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4095032537925835356