Skip to Main Content

Continuing Education and Professional Development: Other Upcoming Free Webinars

Free Webinars This Month

Below is a selection of upcoming free webinars in January collected by the Maine State Library. To see the full list, please visit: https://maine-msl.libguides.com/CECAL

Thursday, Feb 1 (3-4 pm)

Collaborating for Access: Libraries and Independent Authors (Digital Public Library of America)

A look at ways libraries can drive discovery of and benefit from the inclusion of self-published titles in their collections. Highlights will include a look at the Indie Author Project, the Indie Catalog Selection in Palace Marketplace, and insights from library leaders and independent authors themselves.

For more information and to register, visit: https://pro.dp.la/events/workshops

 

Friday, Feb 2 (11 am-12 pm)

Collection Development Policies in a Dynamic Collections Environment (Association of Southeastern Research Libraries)

Are collection development policies still relevant? Have you recently been tasked with assembling, revising, or updating a policy? How do these policies differ from workflows and processes? This webinar will focus on the status of collections policies, and why dynamic policies can remain important for addressing user requirements, diversity and inclusion, technological change, and other elements of collection building and management. A follow-up discussion is envisioned to account for a more practical discussion of drafting collection development policies.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.aserl.org/#webinars

 

Monday, Feb 5 (4-5 pm)

Igniting Summer Learning with STEAM (edWeb)

Enrich your summer programs and increase student engagement by exploring effective approaches to incorporating STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, mathematics) education. Attend this edWebinar to discover how STEAM seamlessly integrates reading, writing, math, and science, providing hands-on and engaging experiences that equip students with future-ready skills.

For more information and to register, visit: https://home.edweb.net/webinars/

 

Wednesday, Feb 7 (2-3 pm)

Building Belonging, The Key to Creating Connection with your DEI Efforts (Niche Academy)Join Jarrod Harden to delve into the heart of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) — with a specific focus on the most recently added (and sometimes misunderstood) "B" for Belonging. Audience engagement is encouraged as we define what elements constitute true Belonging through a set of unique lenses. We'll look at data that supports its importance, and you'll hear stories that will help us understand the power and impact Belonging can have. The session will close with practical tips and strategies you can implement immediately to give your own organizations and institutions a Belonging boost! Bring your questions and be prepared to examine the ways that we can all pitch in to create a more inclusive future.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.nicheacademy.com/upcoming-webinars

 

Wednesday, Feb 7 (2-3 pm)

Building Inclusive Online Tutorials (Georgia Library Association)

Online tutorials are becoming an increasingly frequent element in libraries. One element not yet fully explored in the theory and praxis around them is the concept of inclusion. In some ways this is understandable. A quick glance at best practices in inclusive teaching highlights two assumptions: interaction and repeated contact. How, then, can online tutorials create a learning space that welcomes all students and affirms they belong as students and researchers? We will discuss content and structure choices that are possible in online tutorials to create inclusive, welcoming learning environments even without the benefits of personal interaction. Topics covered include diverse visual cues, multimodal approaches, and gender inclusive language.

For more information and to register, visit: https://gla.georgialibraries.org/carterette-series-webinars/

 

Wednesday, Feb 7 (3-4 pm)

Low Vision Tools to Support Independence (PACER Center)

This workshop will provide an overview and demonstration of devices and apps to support increased independence for individuals who are blind or visually impaired. Tools will address magnification, reading with text-to-speech, object identification, and other areas of daily living. Tools demonstrated will include low- to high-tech devices, such as video magnifiers, OCR (optical character recognition) devices, and mobile apps, which can be used in a range of settings, such as education, employment, and independent living.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.pacer.org/workshops/

 

Thursday, Feb 8 (12-1 pm)

Practical Applications of AI in Libraries (Wyoming State Library)

Join Megan Bratton and Conrrado Saldivar from the Natrona County Library to hear practical ways that they use AI in their library. From their monthly newsletter and web copy to cataloging and technical services, learn more about how AI can help you streamline your library tasks. There will be time for Q&A and questions can also be submitted when you register. Facilitated by Paige Bredenkamp of the Wyoming State Library. This webinar will be recorded and made available after the live session.

For more information and to register, visit:  https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/1407593023050983769

 

Tuesday, Feb 13 (12-1 pm)

Occupational Wellness in a Service Profession (Nebraska Library Commission)

The pandemic is over and yet, mental health issues continue to plague our lives, increasing numbers of people deal with crippling anxiety, and many employees report feeling "angry, stressed, and disengaged" (Wall Street Journal, 2023). While thought leaders in corporate America are engaging in prolific discussions about "healthier work cultures", it is much harder to find commentary geared towards those of us in service professions. How do we, in libraries, work towards happiness, wholeness, and fulfillment as we constantly pour out and over others? How do we foster work cultures that enable such things for our teams? This presentation will offer a working definition of "occupational wellness" without dismissing accountability and excellence. It will also include strategies that can help nurture a work culture in which everyone is empowered to thrive. How do we dedicate our lives in service to others AND protect our personal well-being? Let’s start the discussion.

For more information and to register, visit: https://nlc.nebraska.gov/scripts/calendar/eventlist.asp?Mode=ALL

 

Wednesday, Feb 14 (2-3 pm)

Cultivating and Sustaining the Relationship-Driven Library (Niche Academy)

We all know that teamwork makes the dream work, but what does that actually mean for the day-to-day work of librarianship? Cultivating and sustaining the relationship-driven library has four steps: 1) planting the seeds of partnership, 2) nurturing co-developed ideas, 3) harvesting and celebrating accomplishments, and 4) resting and preparing for future partnerships. You’ll leave this session with renewed confidence in your ability to find partners, cultivate working relationships with them, and keep relationships fresh and impactful, as well as how to tactfully step back from relationships that aren’t working the way you hoped they would. Finally, you’ll learn how to advocate for the time you need for this process.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.nicheacademy.com/upcoming-webinars

 

Tuesday, Feb 20 (2-3 pm)

Crisis Communication: The Librarian’s Guide to Clear Communication Under Pressure (Association of Southeastern Research Libraries)

In our current world, crisis is not an if it will occur, it’s a when it will occur. As librarian leaders, we want to be strategically prepared and proactive for crisis events. We may have qualified experts in headquarters who have crisis plans to help us, but when the crisis happens, we are the ones on the front lines.

In this webinar, you will discover how to prepare mentally and emotionally for crisis situations, reflect on crisis sessions specifically for librarians, and learn tips on advanced communication messaging to be clear and concise.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.aserl.org/#webinars

 

Thursday, Feb 22 (3-4 pm)

Switching it Up! Creating a Video Game Collection for Your Library

Learn how to create, maintain, and promote a new video game collection at your library. (WebJunction)

Video games are a dynamic, modern, popular medium worthy of a place in every library, but starting a collection can feel overwhelming. You might have questions like, how much funding will it require? Are these materials more prone to theft? Is this a juvenile collection, young adult, or one for all ages? This webinar will provide you with practical solutions for all your questions. We’ll walk through the process of creating, maintaining, and promoting a new video game collection. You’ll hear lessons learned and tips for success that Billings Public Library used to create a successful collection, along with strategies from other libraries around the country. You’ll leave ready to get started creating what is sure to be one of your library’s most well-circulating collections.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.webjunction.org/events/webjunction.html

 

Tuesday, Feb 27 (2-3 pm)

Living Room Conversations: Connecting Your Library Community Through Conversation (Programming Librarian)

Living Room Conversations are a simple, easy, and effective way to bring your community together through community conversations and civic dialogue programming. Living Room Conversations offers a plug-and-play library program that allows both small and rural as well as large and urban libraries to hold community conversations on a wide range of topics. This webinar will guide participants through the Living Room Conversations dialogue model and offer examples of how libraries across the country have brought their communities together to engage in thoughtful, respectful, and transformative conversations.

For more information and to register, visit: https://programminglibrarian.org/learn

 

Tuesday, Feb 27 (3-4 pm)

Co-Creating Library Services for Transformative Impact (WebJunction)

Learn about the fundamentals of co-design and explore how to apply them in your library for wildly creative and deeply impactful programs and services. The most relevant and dynamic ideas can grow from collaborating with impacted communities. Co-creation is one of the most effective ways for libraries to turn diversity, equity, and inclusion ideals into real-world services. In this session, you’ll learn about the fundamentals of co-design and explore how to apply them in your library for wildly creative and deeply impactful programs and services. As a result of this webinar, you’ll be able to: Define co-design and its role in creating library services, Identify multiple ways of sharing power with community, Apply basic principles and techniques from human-centered design to facilitate co-creation, Draw on real-world examples for inspiration.

For more information and to register, visit: https://www.webjunction.org/events/webjunction.html

 

Thursday, Feb 29 (1-2 pm)

Working with Facilities to Create a Fuller Picture of Your Collection Environment (Connecting to Collections)

Does the building that houses your collections have temperature and humidity sensors that are read and maintained by facilities or HVAC professionals? Do you have a separate environmental monitoring system and have you ever had to seek agreement on sensors with vastly different readings? This presentation will go into some reasons why it is important to set up a parallel monitoring system even if you have BAS (building automated system) sensors, and how you can work with facilities to create a better understanding of your building.

For more information and to register, visit: https://connectingtocollections.org/calendar/?cid=mc-3d5a35dc491e7c24858a2c2a1c6047be&month=2&yr=2024

 

Thursday, Feb 29 (2-3 pm)

Free & Low Cost Programming for Youth (Indiana State Library)

Learn about free and low cost programming for youth in this webinar, led by a library programmer!  We will talk about things you can do on the fly and programs you can plan for next to nothing out of your library budget. We will cover all ages from birth to 18.

For more information and to register, visit: https://indianastatelibrary.evanced.info/signup/calendar?ln=ALL

Other Places to Find Free Webinars