Tip of the Week Archive: General

Removing AI-Generated Content from Google Search Results

(Shared 05.20.2025)

You’ve probably noticed recently that when you do a Google search, you’ll often receive at the top of the results an “AI Overview.”  This pulls information from a few of the sources it’s found on your topic and creates a summary.

If you would rather NOT have the Google machine try to synthesize information for you, you can add a brief bit of text to the end of your search to eliminate the AI Overview from your search results.  That text is -ai (the minus sign in front of the letters AI).

So, for example, if you wanted to search for the best plants for honeybees without the AI Overview, you would type the following into the search bar:

best plants for honeybees -ai

Similarly, if you’d like to eliminate sponsored content appearing in your Google search results, you can include the text -sponsored

How to request an ILL from the Bookmobile

(Shared 1/14/2025)

Sometimes when you're searching in the Workflows catalog, you'll see that the only library listed as owning an item is CYMO.  This means that the only copy of the item is held by the 4CLS Bookmobile.  (It's listed as CYMO in the catalog because the previous vehicle was called the Cybermobile.)

Because the Bookmobile's collection is often on the road, the CYMO items are non-holdable in Workflows.  However, most of the items are still available to be requested through ILL.  

If your patron is interested in an item that is only held by the Bookmobile, please follow these instructions to request the item:

• Send an email to nholmes@4cls.org.  Using “ILL Request” or “May We Borrow” (or something similar) as the subject insures that the email will be opened promptly.

• In the email, state the title, author, and call number of the item(s) you wish to borrow. (Item ID is helpful, but not necessary.)

• It is best to include the patron’s ID number. However, some libraries chose not to. The choice is yours.
  • If you include the patron’s ID number, the book will be sent to your library with a hold already placed for that patron. When you receive it, Workflows will say “hold for Patron X”.
  • If you do NOT include the patron’s ID number, the book will be sent to you checked out to your library’s ILL account. Upon receipt, it must then also be checked out to your patron. (However, if your library uses “discharge” to receive items in transit, this can cause problems, as discharging it will immediately route these items back to the Bookmobile.)

• If the item is available, it will be sent as soon as possible. (Note: New items are held for a specific period before being loaned out.) If the item is checked out, it will be sent when it is returned, unless there are other holds waiting. Emails are always sent to the requester, notifying them when the book is put in transit.

Tip of the Week- Best Practices for Packing Delivery Bags

(Shared 9/24/24)

This week, we want to emphasize the importance of packing delivery bags efficiently to ensure that materials arrive safely and in good condition. Here are some guidelines to follow:

• Use a Transit Slip: Always include a transit slip with each item. Books without a transit slip must be returned to their home library, which delays delivery.
• Legible Codes: Write the destination library’s code clearly to avoid confusion.
• Follow Delivery Codes: Please use the established delivery codes for transit slips. It can be confusing about where items should go when incorrect codes are used.
• Avoid Rubber Bands: Do not use rubber bands, as they can break and potentially damage the books.
• Media Bags Usage: Media bags are meant for CDs, DVDs, and audiobooks. You may also include small paperbacks, but do not place hardcover books in these bags, as this can damage discs. Some of the smaller libraries do not receive media bags.
• Mixing Items: You may combine items destined for different locations in the same bag. However, please refrain from stacking materials for transit outside of the bags, as this can create confusion for the delivery drivers.
• Packing Books: When packing books, place larger ones on the top or bottom. Avoid tilting them across uneven stacks to prevent spine damage.
• Even Layers: Aim to pack the bags in even layers. Positioning books spine to spine helps reduce the risk of damage.
• Bag Stability: Each bag should be able to stand on its own when packed. Avoid overfilling to maintain stability.

Thank you for your help in ensuring items reach the right destination in a timely manner!

Tip of the Week- Where to Find 4CLS Forms

(Shared 10/22/2024)

This ‘Tip of the Week’ has to do with the various forms that 4CLS has created to deal with requests, information collecting, etc.  Since there are so many different forms for different tasks and departments within the system, Steve helpfully created a page on the 4CLS LibGuide to make a one-stop shop. 

The ‘Forms Clearinghouse’ can be found here: https://4cls.libguides.com/Forms 

On this page you can find the following:

• Barcode Order Form
• ILL/Transit (Salmon) Slip Request Form
• Patron Card Order Form
• Virtual Gift Book Submission
• Virtual Gift Audiobook Submission
• Request an Account for BARC (out-of-system ILL) Form
• Receipt for Paid Material
• Charge History Removal
• 4CLS Directory Info + Updates Form
• 4CLS Programming Database Form

Tip of the Week- The 4CLS Programming Database

(Shared 12/03/2024)

This week’s tip is about how to use the 4CLS Programming Database LibGuide: https://4cls.libguides.com/programmingdatabase/home

This LibGuide is your one-stop shop for program inspiration and collaboration! Here's how to navigate it:

1. Submit Your Programs:

• Click on the 4CLS Programming Database Submission Form link on the ‘Home’ tab.
• Fill out the Google Form with your program details (title, description, target audience, etc.).
• Hit "Submit"! Your program will be added to the database for others to browse.
• Please email any associated materials (planning documents, marketing/promotional materials, event photographs, etc.) that you would like to share to Circe at cmckenney@4cls.org  

2. Browse Program Ideas:

• Explore the database by category (e.g., "Children's Programs," "Teen Programs," "Adult Programs").
• Use the search bar to find programs by keyword or topic.
• Click on a program title to view its full description, including advanced planning steps, cost, materials needed, advice, etc.

3. Get Inspired:

• Discover new program ideas from your colleagues across the Four County Library System.
• Adapt existing programs to fit your library's needs and audience.
• Connect with other library staff to collaboration or advice on future programs.

4. Share Your Feedback:

• Let us know what you think of the 4CLS Programming Database!
• Suggest new features or categories.
• Contact Circe at cmckenney@4cls.org with any questions or suggestions.

This LibGuide is a dynamic resource that grows with your contributions. Start exploring and sharing today!

Tip of the Week- Level Up Your Skills with WebJunction!

(Shared 3/4/2025)

Looking to boost your professional development and stay up-to-date on the latest library trends? Look no further than WebJunction!

WebJunction offers a wealth of FREE online resources, including a vast library of recorded webinars and courses on topics ranging from technology and programming to leadership and advocacy. And the best part? The New York State Library has designated WebJunction as an approved provider of continuing education for both library staff AND library trustees.

Here's how to get started:

1. Create a FREE account: Visit https://www.webjunction.org/ and click "Go To Courses" in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Then click “Sign In” to sign in with an existing account or register for a free account.

2. Explore the course catalog: Browse through the recorded webinars and courses to find ones that pique your interest. After you’ve found a course or webinar you’d like to pursue, you’ll click “Enroll me”. After being enrolling, you’ll have access to all the course materials.

3. Earn CE credits: Once you have watched the webinar recording and/or completed any required activities, select the "Mark as done" button to enable access to the CE certificate.

If you have any questions about WebJunction, please don’t hesitate to reach out to Circe (cmckenney@4cls.org).

Tip of the Week- Access Past Webinar Recordings & Earn CE Credits!

(Shared 4/15/2025)

Did you miss a valuable webinar or want to revisit a session? This week's tip is a reminder about where to find recordings of our past webinars!

You can access recordings of previous webinars on a variety of topics, including:

• Conflict resolution
• Programming ideas for small budgets
• Library programs to alleviate social isolation and loneliness
• Collection development
• Diversity audits
• Marketing and social media
• Strategies for combatting burnout and feelings of job-related guilt
• Teen programming ideas
• And much more!

To find the recordings, please visit: https://4cls.libguides.com/ce/recordings

To receive a CE certificate for watching a recording, please email Circe at cmckenney@4cls.org with the following information:

• Your name
• The title of the webinar recording
• The date you watched the recording

Tip of the Week- Ensure Efficient Delivery with Correct Codes!

(Shared 4/30/2024)

This week's Tip of the Week focuses on a small but crucial detail that keeps our system running smoothly: using the correct delivery codes when sending items to other libraries.

Using the right code ensures that materials are routed efficiently and arrive at their destination promptly. Incorrect codes can cause delays and misdirection, which can be frustrating for the drivers, the sending and receiving libraries, and ultimately for our patrons.

Please double-check the delivery code before sending any item. You can find the correct codes here and on the attached PDF.

Tip of the Week: Remember - No Cataloging for ARCs & Screeners!

(Shared 6/10/2025)

This week's tip is a quick but crucial reminder: please do not catalog Advance Reader Copies (ARCs) of books or screener DVDs from production companies.

Why not? These are not final products and are often temporary, uncorrected versions intended for review. Cataloging them can lead to inaccurate records, copyright issues, and confusion for patrons.

How to identify them:

• ARCs: Look for "Uncorrected Proof," "Not for Sale," or "Advance Reader Copy" printed prominently on the front cover, back cover, spine or interior pages. They sometimes have simplified covers and may lack final ISBNs.
• Screeners: Watch for "Screener," "Not for Sale," “For Your Consideration”, or "For Promotional Use Only" on the disc label or packaging. The film itself might also have visible watermarks or on-screen disclaimers.

What to do with them instead:

Even though ARCs and screener DVDs can't be cataloged for general circulation, they can still be valuable assets to your library! Here are some ideas for how libraries can use them:

• Staff Reader's/Viewer's Advisory: Encourage staff to read ARCs or watch screener DVDs. This allows them to get familiar with upcoming titles, discover new authors/filmmakers, and provide excellent, informed recommendations to patrons when the final versions are released.
• Collection Development Tool: Use ARCs and screeners to evaluate whether the final published book or film is a good fit for your collection before ordering.
• Promotional Displays: Create a "Coming Soon!" or "Buzzworthy Books/Films" display using ARCs or screener packaging. Clearly label them "Not for Sale - Coming Soon!" to generate excitement among patrons for future releases.
• Patron Giveaways/Contests (ARCs Only, with Care): Some publishers permit ARCs to be given away to patrons after the official publication date. This can be a fantastic way to engage patrons through raffles or contests (e.g., "Win an advance copy of a new release!"). Always confirm giveaway rights as part of your contest rules.